Rahul Gandhi to campaign in Manipur, northeast next week

 (IANS) Congress President Rahul Gandhi will kick-start the party’s poll campaign in Manipur and two other northeastern states next week, party leaders said on Saturday. Gandhi will visit the state on March 19,... Read more »

LS polls: Ex-Arunachal CM Tuki to take on Rijiju

(IANS) The Congress in Arunachal Pradesh has decided to field former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki against BJP leader and Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju in Arunachal West seat in the... Read more »

NCP releases first list of 12 candidates

Mumbai, March 14 (IANS) The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Thursday released its first list of 12 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, including one of ally Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana and one from... Read more »

IT vigil on movement of cash, valuables in Mumbai

Mumbai, March 14 (IANS) With elections approaching, the Income Tax Department has stepped up vigil and intelligence to monitor movement of cash and valuables intended to influence voters, official sources said here on... Read more »

Goa Minister begins Lok Sabha election campaign

Panaji, March 14 (IANS) Shripad Naik, the Union Minister of State for AYUSH and a four-time MP from the North Goa parliamentary seat, on Thursday formally began his campaign for the coming Lok... Read more »

Sonia aide Tom Vadakkan joins BJP

(IANS) Congress spokesperson Tom Vadakkan, who was considered close to party leader Sonia Gandhi, on Thursday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Vadakkan said he was deeply hurt at the way the Congress... Read more »

Raj Babbar, Shinde in Congress’s second LS list

(IANS) The Congress on Wednesday released its second list of Lok Sabha candidates, fielding its Uttar Pradesh unit chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad and former Union Ministers Sushil Kumar Shinde from Maharashtra’s Solapur... Read more »

Don’t seek votes in Sabarimala temple’s name: EC

Thiruvananthapuram, March 13 (IANS) The Chief Electoral Officer in Kerala on Wednesday told political parties that under no circumstances should votes be solicited in the name of the Sabarimala temple. Tikka Ram Meena,... Read more »

TDP MP, businessman join YSR Congress Party

Hyderabad, March 13 (IANS) TDP MP Thota Narasimham and well-known businessman Potluri Vara Prasad were among those who joined the YSR Congress Party on Wednesday. Narasimham, a leader of the ruling Telugu Desam... Read more »

Rebel MPs queer pitch for Punjab, Haryana parties

Chandigarh, March 13 (IANS) Nearly one-third of the sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) in Punjab and Haryana have turned “rebels” in this general election against the parties with which they won the 2014... Read more »

Cabinet approves notification for LS elections

New Delhi, March 13 (IANS) The Union Cabinet on Wednesday approved a notification to begin the election process to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha. The Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved... Read more »

Seat-sharing with AGP done, says BJP as Mahanta sulks

Guwahati, March 13 (IANS) On a day when Asom Gana Parishad leader Prafulla Kumar Mahanta expressed his unhappiness over his party’s decision to ally with the BJP again, Assam finance minister and BJP... Read more »

Video: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra’s First Speech

Post Views: 56 Read more »

YSR Congress defers first list of candidates

Amaravati, March 13 (IANS) The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) on Wednesday postponed the announcement of its first list of candidates for the Andhra Pradesh Assembly and Lok Sabha polls to March 16. The... Read more »

Omar flays Modi for not holding Assembly polls in J&K

Srinagar, March 13 (IANS) Former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Monday criticized Prime Minister Narendra Modi for not giving the people of Jammu and Kashmir the right to choose a state government. Abdullah... Read more »

Election Commission transfers Shillong poll officer

(IANS) Ahead of the first phase Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday transferred two Meghalaya officials, including Returning Officer for Shillong parliamentary seat, Matsiewdor War Nongbri and replaced her with... Read more »

Priyanka makes first tweets, recalls words of Mahatma Gandhi

(IANS) Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who made her debut speech on Tuesday in Gandhinagar after becoming a party general secretary, also made her first tweets hours later. The tweets related to her first visit... Read more »

Rahul says BJP will be ousted, vows one GST

Gandhinagar, March 12 (IANS) Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday said the BJP-led NDA government will be ousted in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and promised farm loan waiver, minimum income guarantee scheme... Read more »

Amarinder: No alliance talks with AAP, anyone else

Chandigarh, March 12 (IANS) Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Tuesday categorically denied any alliance talks with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) or any other party for the May 19 Lok Sabha elections... Read more »

TDP’s fight in Telangana to be symbolic

By Mohammed Shafeeq Hyderabad, March 12 (IANS) With its camp almost deserted in Telangana and its prospects looking bleak, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP)’s presence in the Lok Sabha elections in the state... Read more »